Dutch-Belgian Reinforcement Learning Workshop 2014

The 3rd edition of the Dutch-Belgian Reinforcement Learning workshop will be held at the Vrije Universiteit Brussel in Brussels on Friday November 28, 2014. The workshop is organised by Peter Vrancx (VUB), and Robert Babuska (TU Delft), and will be hosted by the AI-Lab.
We welcome talks on novel research, work in progress, and open problems in RL. Live demos are also highly appreciated.
Information on the previous edition of this workshop can be found here.


Registration is now closed.


The workshop will be held at the Etterbeek Campus of the Vrije Universiteit Brussel. More information on reaching the campus can be found here.

The workshop will take place in room PL5.5.61, Pleinlaan 5 (5th floor), in Elsene (across the street from the main campus).




Abstracts for the presentations can be found here

  • 10:30 - 11:00  Welcome with coffee & tea


  • 11:00 - 12:30 Session 1
    • Frederik Ruelens: Batch RL for demand response applications. Abstract
    • Tim Brys: Multi-Objectivization and Ensemble Techniques. Abstract
    • Madalina Drugan: Multi-objective multi-armed bandits. Abstract


  • 12:30 - 13:30 Lunch (sandwiches will be provided)


  • 13:30 - 15:00 Session 2
    • Daan Bloembergen: Learning dynamics in (social) networks.
    • Subramanya Nageshrao: Feedback Control using RL
    • Yash Satsangi: Exploiting Submodular Value Functions for Faster Dynamic Sensor Selection. Abstract


  • 15:00 - 15:30 Coffee break


  • 15:30 - 16:30 Session 3
    • Davide Zambrano: Toward a Continuous Time AuGMEnT. Abstract
    • Quentin Gemine: A Reinforcement Learning Framework for Active Network Management. Abstract


  • 17:00 Travel to city centre by subway




Bert Claessens VITO
Madalina Drugan Vrije Universiteit Brussels
Kevin Van Vaerenbergh Vrije Universiteit Brussel
Subramanya Nageshrao TU Delft
Yash Satsangi University of Amsterdam
Bart Spinnewyn UA
Daan Bloembergen Maastricht University / University of Liverpool
Frederik Ruelens KULeuven
Robert Babuska TU Delft
Jeroen Famaey University of Antwerp - iMinds
Tim Brys VUB
Maria Torres Vega Eindhoven University of Technology
Glenn Daneels UAntwerpen (MOSAIC)
Atta-ul-Qayyum Arif TU Delft University
Ed Kuijpers NLR
Jeroen van der Hooft Universiteit Gent - iMinds
Sander Bohte CWI
Davide Zambrano Centrum Wiskunde & Informatica
Koen Groenland CWI
Daniel Hennes European Space Agency
Ann Nowe Vrije Universiteit Brussel
Yann-Michael De Hauwere Vrije Universiteit Brussel
Michael Castronovo ULG
Quentin Gemine ULG
Adrien Couetoux ULG
Aivar Sootla ULG
Iván S. Razo-Zapata Vrije Universiteit Brussels
Dipankar Sengupta Vrije Universiteit Brussels
Saba Yahyaa Vrije Universiteit Brussels
Reuben Odoyo Vrije Universiteit Brussels
Nixon Ronoh Vrije Universiteit Brussels



This event is sponsored by the BNVKI